Our Team


The Amnion Foundation is a 501(c)3 organization founded by Dr. Anthony Atala, a world-renowned leader in regenerative medicine. Today, we specialize in the provision of birth tissue-related goods and services to the scientific community. Anchoring our portfolio are proprietary stem cells isolated from the amniotic fluid or placenta; these cells are genetically stable, have a remarkable capacity for expansion, and possess a broad spectrum of therapeutically relevant functions, including immunomodulatory properties, pro-angiogenic and pro-vasculogenic properties, and multi-lineage differentiation potential.  We also offer a variety of additional birth tissue-derived cell types and provide custom isolation services for our partners and clients. 

The Amnion Foundation is powering our mission with a dedicated staff and a wide network of Key Opinion Leaders and Scientific Advisors, including our Founder Dr. Anthony Atala.


Sharon C. Presnell, Ph.D.


Sharon Presnell joined the Amnion Foundation as President and Director of Client Services in January of 2019. Previously, she served as the Chief Scientific Officer of Organovo, Inc., and President of Samsara Sciences, both located in San Diego, CA. Dr. Presnell holds a Ph.D. from the Medical College of Virginia, and has held academic and industrial leadership roles at UNC-Chapel Hill, Becton Dickinson, and Tengion, Inc. She brings 20+ years of experience in cell biology, scientific and business leadership to the Foundation

Julie G. Allickson, Ph.D.

chief scientific officer

Julie Allickson is the Chief Scientific Officer for the Amnion Foundation and Director of the Regenerative Medicine Clinical Center at Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine. Dr. Allickson was Vice President at Cryo-Cell International Inc. building services for cellular banking including licensure of technology with more than 30 affiliate countries.  She has a Doctorate in Health Sciences- Clinical Immunology along with a Master’s Degree in Medical Laboratory Sciences. She is one of the founding members of the International Society of Cellular Therapy and a member of the AABB.  Dr. Allickson is on the Board of Directors for AABB and IWEUS Health along with Regenerative Medicine Outcomes Foundation as a scientific advisor, Editorial board of CELLR4, Vice Chair for Cord Blood Association Quality Committee, Technical Advisory Board for Tissue Engineered Products under ICCBBA, grant reviewer for state funded initiatives such as CIRM and serves on the ISCT Commercialization Committee. She has 30 years of experience in clinical translation of cellular therapies and regenerative medicine products including product development, manufacturing, quality control, business management and regulatory expertise.